Creating, adding, and managing translation memories in Lingpad

Managing translation memory (from Projects)

You can upload, delete, and share access to translation memories (TMs) from Projects.

Creating and adding translation memory

1. Go to your project and navigate to Translation Memory from the left panel.
2. Click Add TM and proceed to either create a new TM or upload it.
3. If you upload it, proceed to select the target language and click Save.



4. If you choose to create a new TM, enter the name of the TM, its target language, and click Save. You'll now be able to add your future translations to this TM.

Utilizing translation memory

Lingpad gives you the flexibility of choosing the TMs you want your teams to use by enabling, updating, and sharing them.

Enable TM

Enabling a TM will let users utilise it while adding translations to the file. They'll get translation suggestions from the TM in the Editor and they can choose to use these suggestions.

If you don't enable a TM, users won't be able to use its translations in the Editor.

To enable a TM,

1. Go to your project and navigate to Translation Memory from the left panel.
2. Choose a TM and click the corresponding box in the Enable column.



3. A dialogue box will ask you to confirm. Click Enable again.



Update TM

Updating a TM helps you add all the new, and approved translations to the memory so you can utilize them for all your future translations.

To Update a TM, you'll first need to Enable it.

To update a TM,

1. Go to your project and navigate to Translation Memory from the left panel.
2. Choose a TM and click the corresponding box in the Update column.



3. A dialogue box will ask you to confirm. Click Update again.



Global translation memory

By default, TMs can be accessed by every user who is a part of the project. But Lingpad allows you to share TMs on a global level - with your entire organization.

Once you save a TM as Global TM, you cannot undo it.

If you have created or uploaded a translation memory that you think could benefit your entire organization, follow these steps:

1. Go to your project and navigate to Translation Memory from the left panel.
2. Choose a TM and click the corresponding box in the Global TM column.



3. A dialogue box will ask you to confirm. Click Save.



Admins, managers, and organizers can add, update, and enable TMs. Only admins and managers can save a TM as Global TM. 

    • Related Articles

    • Utilizing translation memory in the Editor

      When you open a file in the Editor, you'll be able to see suggestions in the third column in the form of translation memory (TM) matches. When you translate a text in the Editor, your TM works in the background by flagging matching or similar ...
    • Managing translation memories (from organization settings)

      Translation memories (TMs) offer a great way of utilizing your previous translations and reducing the turn-around of your translations. Lingpad helps you create and upload TMs for your projects. Only Admins can access translation memory in an ...
    • Creating projects

      Projects are a great way of grouping all relevant content and users in one place. To start using Lingpad, you must create projects within spaces. Creating a project To create a new project, choose which space you wish to create a project in and click ...
    • Creating and managing spaces

      When you log into Lingpad, you will be asked which organization you would like to enter. If it is your first time logging in, you will only be able to enter the organization or company that you mentioned in the sign-up form. This will lead you to the ...
    • Managing files in the Cabinet

      Managing files in the Cabinet The Cabinet is your go-to place for accessing all files that are a part of your project.  To access files in the Cabinet, choose a space and a project within that space. View File-Type Project. Now, navigate to Cabinet ...